My beautiful friend, where will I meet you?

Each morning when I drive to work, I pass this gorgeous little coffee shop in Albion. The white back drop and big black writing catches my attention every time. Well, at least I thought it was just a coffee shop until the day I decided to check it out for myself and my oh my, I couldn’t have been more mistaken. Ma Belle Amie which translates to ‘my beautiful friend’ is more than just a coffee shop. It’s a cafe and gift store bundled into one and ‘a place for beautiful friendships’.

Nestled in the heart of Albion across the road from the train station lies this quaint little abode which has been open for just over a year. Immediately after entering, my eyes are greeted to a world of colour and I am drawn to all things beautiful and feminine. With a diverse range of giftware, this gorgeous little shop will have you poking every corner. French inspired? oui, and to top it off this place is decorated with hanging parasols, floral wallpaper, and shelves of trinkets draped in fairy lights only adds to the delight.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The range of giftware is endless from teacups and saucers to photo frames, jewellery, clothing, clocks and DIY kits – something to tickle every girls fancy.  There’s also a selection of quirky cards and stunning gift wrap, perfect for that special occasion. While some products are sourced from overseas, owner Clarissa Rayward also sells a range of Australian products including local Brisbane wares.

And what would a cafe be without good coffee and great service? Soft tunes while sipping your pot of tea or cup of coffee makes Ma Belle Amie the ideal spot for catching up with a friend (or two). But if it’s lunch you’re after, the girls have that covered as well. With a range of delicious lunch options including homemade pies, quiches and vegetarian lasagne all served with fresh salad (made on the spot), you’ll be left wanting more. My personal favourite however is the mushroom and blue cheese arancini. Even now just thinking about it, my mouth is starting to salivate – it’s that darn good!

For those with a sweet tooth, don’t worry, Ma Belle Amie has an amazing selection of scrumptious sweets including vanilla passionfruit slice, coconut macaroons, apple crumble and caramel flan and chocolate mud cakes (just to name a few). Oh, and no cafe would be complete without homemade cupcakes. It’s easy to say, I think I may have just found my new favourite hang out.

So next time you’re in Brisbane, make time to stop by Albion and check out this treasure – Shop 1, 10 Albion Rd, Albion or visit them online www.mabelleamie.com.au or on Facebook www.facebook.com.au/mabelleamie

One comment

Leave a Reply

